Faculty and Lecturers

Charisma Acey, Assistant Professor of City and Regional Planning. Ghana, Nigeria, Uganda, Malawi, Zimbabwe
charisma.acey@berkeley.edu
Leonardo Arriola, Director, Center for African Studies Associate Professor of Political Science. Cameroon, Ethiopia, Guinea, Kenya, Madagascar, Senegal, Zambia
larriola@berkeley.edu
Peter Bartu, Lecturer Lecturer Lecturer of International and Area Studies. Djibouti, Libya, Malawi, Iraq, East Timor, Cambodia, Australia
pbartu@berkeley.edu
Jean Paul Bourdier, Professor of Architecture. Senegal, Mali, Togo, Benin, Burkina Faso
jpbourdier@berkeley.edu
Rauri Bowie, Assistant Professor of Integrative Biology. East Africa, South Africa, Europe, Australia
bowie@berkeley.edu
Martin Brennan, Former Executive Director, I House. Lecturer of International and Area Studies. Rwanda, Burkina Faso, Ethiopia, Uganda, Zambia, Angola, Mozambique
brennanm@berkeley.edu
Eric Brewer, Professor of Computer Science. India, Ghana, Uganda
brewer@cs.berkeley.edu
Karl Britto, Associate Professor of French. Franchophone Africa
kbritto@berkeley.edu
Robert Buchanan, Professor of Plant Biology. Ethiopia
view@berkeley.edu
Jenna Burrell, Associate Professor of Information. Ghana, Brazil, United States
jenna@ischool.berkeley.edu
Claudia Carr, Associate Professor of Environmental Science, Policy & Management. Kenya, Somalia, Ethiopia, Sudan
claudiacarr@berkeley.edu
Ruth Collier, Professor of Political Science. Africa - general
rcollier@berkeley.edu
Meg Conkey, Professor of Anthropology. South Africa, Niger
meg@berkeley.edu
Jason Corburn, Associate Professor of City and Regional Planning. Kenya, Brazil, United States
jcorburn@berkeley.edu
Mariane Ferme, Professor Curator of African Ethnology of Anthropology. Sierra Leone, Morocco, Egypt
mcf@berkeley.edu
Laurence Frank, Associate Research Psychologist of Psychology. Kenya
lgfrank@berkeley.edu
Mia Fuller, Associate Professor of Italian Studies. Eritrea, Ethiopia, Libya
miafull@berkeley.edu
Paul Gertler, Professor of Public Health. Côte d'Ivoire, South Africa
gertler@haas.berkeley.edu
Stephen Glickman, Professor of Psychology. Kenya (lab research at UCB)
glickman@socrates.berkeley.edu
Jocelyn Guilbault, Professor of Music. Diaspora
jguilbau@socrates.berkeley.edu
Gillian Hart, Professor of Geography. South Africa, Southeast Asia
hart@berkeley.edu
Tyrone Hayes, Professor of Integrative Biology. Uganda, Kenya, Tanzania
tyrone@berkeley.edu
Neil Henry, Professor of Journalism. Zambia, Malawi, Nigeria
nhenry@berkeley.edu
Leslea Hlusko, Associate Professor of Integrative Biology. Kenya, Ethiopia
hlusko@berkeley.edu
Robert Hosang, Professor of Public Health. Africa - general
hosang@berkeley.edu
Larry Hyman, Professor of Linguistics. West Africa, Nigeria, Uganda
hyman@berkeley.edu
Sharon Inkelas, Professor of Linguistics. Nigeria
inkelas@berkeley.edu
Adbul JanMohamed, Professor of English. Uganda, Kenya, East Africa
abduljm@berkeley.edu
Peter Jenks, Assistant Professor of Linguistics. Cameroon, Sudan
jenks@berkeley.edu
Jenna Johnson-Hanks, Associate Professor of Demography. Cameroon, West Africa
johnsonhanks@demog.berkeley.edu
Daniel M. Kammen, Professor Professor of Energy and Resources Group. Kenya, South Sudan, East Africa, South Africa
kammen@berkeley.edu
Tabitha Kanogo, Professor of History. Kenya, East Africa
kanogo@berkeley.edu
Liliane Koziol, Director of Programs, I House of I House. Madagascar
lkoziol@berkeley.edu
David Kyeu, Lecturer of African American Studies. Kenya
kyeu@berkeley.edu
C. K. Ladzekpo, Lecturer of Music. Ghana, Niger, Togo, Côte d'Ivoire
ladzekpo@berkeley.edu
Peggy G. Lemaux, Cooperative Extension Specialist of Plant Biology. Sub-Saharan Africa
lemauxpg@berkeley.edu
Jeremy Magruder, Assistant Professor of Agricultural and Resource Economics and Policy. South Africa
jmagruder@berkeley.edu
Laurent Mayali, Professor of Law (Boalt Hall). Africa
lmayali@law.berkeley.edu
Sam Mchombo, Associate Professor of African American Studies. Malawi, Tanzania, Southern Africa
mchombo@berkeley.edu
Adina Merenlender, Adjunct Associate Professor, Extension Specialist of Environmental Science, Policy & Management. Madagascar
adina@berkeley.edu
James Midgley, Dean Emeritus & Specht Professor of Social Welfare. South Africa, Southern Africa
midg@berkeley.edu
Edward "Ted" Miguel, Professor of Economics. Kenya, East Africa
emiguel@econ.berkeley.edu
Ivy Mills, Lecturer Alumna of History of Art. Senegal
ivymills@berkeley.edu
Donald Moore, Associate Professor of Anthropology. Southern Africa, Zimbabwe
dsmoore@berkeley.edu
G. Ugo Nwokeji, Associate Professor of African American Studies. Nigeria, West Africa, Diaspora
ugo@berkeley.edu
Jamie O'Connell, Lecturer of Legal Studies. Sierra Leone, the Americas, Asia, Europe
joconnell@law.berkeley.edu
Abena Dove Osseo-Asare, Assistant Professor of History. Ghana, West Africa
osseo@berkeley.edu
Stefania Pandolfo, Associate Professor of Anthropology. Morocco, Senegal
pandolfo@berkeley.edu
Malcolm Potts, Bixby Professor of Public Health. South Africa, Angola, Africa - general
potts@berkeley.edu
john a. powell, Professor of Law (Boalt Hall). South Africa, Mozambique, India, South America, Europe
japowell@law.berkeley.edu
Ndola Prata, Associate Professor in Residence of Public Health. Angola, Ethiopia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Tanzania, Mozambique, The Sahel Region
ndola@berkeley.edu
Robert Price, Associate Vice Chancellor, Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research of Political Science. South Africa, Ghana
rprice@berkeley.edu
Art Reingold, Professor of Public Health. Central African Republic, Zimbabwe
reingold@berkeley.edu
Martha Saavedra, Associate Director, Center for African Studies Sudan, Senegal, Kenya, Ethiopia
martha@berkeley.edu
Zak Sabry, Professor of Public Health. North Africa
zaksabry@berkeley.edu
George Scharffenberger, Special Assistant for International Development Policy and Practice of Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research. Senegal, Madagascar, Morocco, Gambia, Mali, Niger, Burkina Faso
gscharffenberger@berkeley.edu
Nancy Scheper-Hughes, Professor of Anthropology. South Africa, Ireland, Brazil, Cuba
nsh@berkeley.edu
Namwali Serpell, Assistant Professor of English. Zambia
serpell@berkeley.edu
Stephen Small, Associate Professor of African American Studies. Zimbabwe, Diaspora
small@berkeley.edu
Kirk Smith, Professor of Public Health. East Africa, Eritrea
krksmith@berkeley.edu
Eric Stover, Adjunct Professor of Law of Law (Boalt Hall). Rwanda, Central African Republic
stovere@berkeley.edu
David Sunding, Professor of Agricultural and Resource Economics and Policy. Nigeria
sunding@are.berkeley.edu
Jun Sunseri, Assistant Professor of Anthropology. Northern South Africa, Mali, Lesotho
jsunseri@berkeley.edu
Ann Swidler, Professor of Sociology. Botswana, Malawi
swidler@berkeley.edu
Amara Tabor-Smith, Visiting Faculty of Theater, Dance and Performance Studies. Senegal
deepwaterdance@gmail.com
Soraya Tlatli, Associate Professor of French. Algeria, North Africa
stlatli@berkeley.edu
Manuela Travaglianti, Lecturer of Peace and Confict Studies. Burundi, Rwanda, Malawi
manuelat@berkeley.edu
Julia Walsh, Adjunct Professor of Public Health. Egypt
jwalsh@berkeley.edu
Michael Watts, Professor of Geography. West Africa, Gambia, Senegal, Nigeria, Ethiopia
mwatts@berkeley.edu
Timothy White, Professor of Integrative Biology. Ethiopia, South Africa, Kenya, Tanzania
timwhite@berkeley.edu
Ika Williams, Director of Student Services of Graduate School of Education. Mozambique
ilkaw@berkeley.edu
Lisa Wymore, Associate Professor of Theater, Dance and Performance Studies. Senegal
lisawymore@berkeley.edu